Surf Lifeguard Course

Spring 2016

DATE: Starting Tuesday 15th March – Saturday 30th April (final assessment). See below for full timetable.

COST: £60 (club members) / £200 (non members). The cost includes £30 for manuals and a £30 exam fee.

So you think you’ve got what it takes?

Being a beach lifeguard incorporates fitness, life saving skills, life support, people and management skills, vigilance and service. All of these are available through the Surf Life Saving GB Surf Lifeguard Award, the best lifeguard award in the UK and the preferred award for lifeguards for our partner, the RNLI. The SLSGB Surf Lifeguard Award is an internationally recognised qualification and is accepted in Australia and New Zealand.

-A thorough knowledge of the beach and ocean environment
-Rescue skills
-First aid
-Resuscitation
-How to deal with emergency situations
-Radio techniques
-And you will develop the high level of fitness required

Pre-requisite’s
– Be able to swim 400m in under 7.30 mins
– Run 200m in under 40seconds
– 16 Years old +
– SLSGB Membership

All lessons will be taught by trained SLSA GB Trainer/Assessors, Matthew Stone and Rob Dick. Read more here…

COURSE DATES / LOCATIONS:

Tue 15th March – Falmouth Townhouse 18.00-20.00
Wednesday 16th March – Timed Swim at Heslton Pool (20:00-21:00)
Sat 19th March – Truro School 14.00-18.00
Tue 22nd March – Falmouth Townhouse 18.00-20.00
Tue 29th Mar – Falmouth Townhouse 18.00-20.00
Sat 2nd Apr –Truro School 14.00-18.00
Sun 3rd Apr – Beach (Time/Location TBC)
Tue 5th Apr – Falmouth Townhouse 18.00-20.00
Sat 9th Apr – Truro School 14.00-18.00
Sun 10th Apr – Beach (Time/Location TBC)
Tue 12th Apr – Falmouth Townhouse 18.00-20.00
Tue 19th Apr – Falmouth Townhouse 18.00-20.00
Sunday 24th Apr – Beach (Time/Location TBC)
Tuesday 26th Apr – Falmouth Townhouse
Saturday 30th April – EXAM (Time/Location TBC)

To apply please email matt@gyllysurf.org.uk or call Matt 07802 732229 for more info. Deadline for applicants is Sunday 13th March.